The history of De Lindeboom goes far back to the Middle Ages. From the chronicles, we know that the bailiff’s house once stood on this spot. The rich history of this building is clearly visible in ‘t Schoutenhuys. The oldest stone building on Texel displays its history in the magnificently restored front gable. The beautifully decorated entrance and the step-gable are from the beginning of the 17th century. At the back of the bailiff’s house were the cellars that were used as prison cells. Thanks to the steps at the hotel’s reception and the upstairs room where the Bailiff’s Room is now found, you can still imagine what this important house once looked like.
From 1611 to 1891, the building next door was used as a court and town hall where the bailiff, sheriffs and mayors gathered. After the town hall was demolished, Hotel Texel – that now bears the name Hotel De Lindeboom – was built in 1894. This pioneer in tourism on Texel began with eight rooms for guests and one café. Meanwhile, De Lindeboom has expanded to become a modern hotel with 49 rooms, 2 restaurants and 3 conference rooms for business meetings, parties and receptions. In 2016 the hotel expanded with 24 rooms. The Brasserie, the Schoutenhuys and the Lobby have also been renewed. In the spring of 2018, the rooms in the historic part have been completely renovated.
Unique work of art
In the Bailiff’s Room we have placed a very special back wall that originates from Brakenstein House near Oudeschild. In 1787 the artist Warmoes from Amsterdam filled this wall with various scenes in which the four elements of earth, air, water and fire are found in images of birds, fishing, gardening and forging. A comparison with the famous French artists Francois Boucher (1703-1770) shows us that Warmoes took his work as an example. The wall is framed with exceptionally beautiful wood carvings.
Would you like to know more about the history of Hotel De Lindeboom and the centre of Den Burg? Just ask our staff or visit the website www.groeneplaats.nl.